The KL Yoga blog provides you with information on the practice of yoga in Malaysia, including yoga centers, schools and class times.

The word yoga originates from the Sanskrit word yuj means to yoke or bind. This is often interpreted as union of the body, mind and spirit. The Indian sage Patanjali is believed to have collated the practice of yoga into the Yoga Sutra some 2,000 years ago. The Sutra is a collection of statements that that forms the philosophical framework for most forms of yoga practiced today.

The Sutra outlines 8 limbs of yoga:

  • yamas (restraints)
  • niyamas (observances)
  • asana (postures)
  • pranayama (breathing)
  • pratyahara (withdrawal of senses)
  • dharana (concentration)
  • dhyani (meditation)
  • samadhi (absorption)

In Malaysia, most people practicing yoga are engaged in the third limb, asana, which is a program of physical postures designed to purify the body and provide the physical strength and stamina required for long periods of meditation.

This blog aims to share information about yoga in a balanced way, to promote the awareness of yoga as an ingredient towards healthy living and personal well-being amongst Malaysians.

If you teach yoga and would like to include your Yoga School or Yoga Class in our directory, please submit your information below and we will include in our listings asap.

  • Name of Yoga School
  • Contact Person
  • Tel
  • Address
  • Email
  • Website (if any)
  • Type of Yoga Classes